Who is that in the mirror?

July 16, 2009

All of us have favourite something:books, songs, movies, comic characters. Having read, seen or heard them, we automatically try to analyse them. Somehow unconciously our minds picks up few things from them and it becomes a part of us.

To make it a bit more clearer. Many of us enjoy watching the TV series HOUSE M.D. Out of everyone who watch it, most them have a liking for the character of Gregory House. The way he is sarcastically funny & ends up being right all the time. At the end of it I realised I wanted to be like that guy on my screen and for no reason I felt i should have chosen MBBS over engineering(Mechanical is still the best) which surely wasn’t what I wanted then nor now.

Same thing applies to musicians, cricketers, the people around you(remember how to caught on to lingos of your friends around you), philosophies……The list can go on. Nor can this be avoided. It sure is inevitable and nor is everything inspirational; few are influencing us just like what I am writing now or have and will do has affected you, influence you in someway.

So how do I differentiate between the Real I and the Influenced I? How do I know that the choices I make aren’t under the influence of  some other person’s thinking or something that the person has said? How do look into my own eyes in the mirror and assure myself that the person in front of me is the REAL ME?How do I segregate on what should influence me and what should inspire me?

Questions remain unanswered. If you have them, let me know. If not join in; paitience shall pave way and we shall be enlightened at the end.

POST JULY 16TH

I realised I asked the wrong question. I wanted to know this system of life; which was working well just like the others. I questioned the obvious and the natural.Like Timbaland’s song it is:

THE WAY I ARE.

2 Responses to “Who is that in the mirror?”

  1. kamalachan Says:

    I think that the experiences we have are absorbed into our entire being and that they become a part of us. The only thing in life that is constant is change and we are an ever moving and evolving being. I’m a different person now than I was in the morning today – simply by living this day. So, in order to be ourselves we have to continue to take in new experiences and enjoy the ride. I, myself am easily influenced and at least I recognize that – I act like a sponge most of the time. I find myself laughing like friends that I spend a lot of time with – but does that mean I’m not still laughing in my own way? No, it’s just that I’ve changed and adapted to become someone different, but still me.

    • Karan Says:

      yes agree that change is completely part of it all…. inevitable
      but what I wanted to know was when do I know what should let me change and when do i know it should be otherwise
      I think I`m making things too complicated and should just Life be the way it is.
      Shouldn’t try and tinker the things that are fine
      btw I always wanted to write about ‘change’, guess it had to be when someone else thought the same as me


Leave a Reply

